

201 Chicago Avenue Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415

> Tel: (612) 928-6100 Fax: (612) 454-2744

June 30, 2020

AAN.com

President James C. Stevens, MD, FAAN Fort Wayne, Indiana

President Elect

Orly Avitzur, MD, MBA, FAAN Tarrytown, New York

Vice President

Ann H. Tilton, MD, FAAN New Orleans, Louisiana

Secretary

Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN San Antonio, Texas

Treasurer

Janis Miyasaki, MD, MEd, FRCPC, FAAN Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Immediate Past President

Ralph L. Sacco, MD, MS, FAHA, FAAN Miami, Florida

Directors

Brenda Banwell, MD, FAAN Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Sarah M. Benish, MD, FAAN Minneapolis, Minnesota

Gregory D. Cascino, MD, FAAN Chair, Member Engagement Committee Rochester, Minnesota

Charlene E. Gamaldo, MD, FAAN Baltimore, Maryland

James N. Goldenberg, MD, FAAN Lake Worth, Florida

Robert A. Gross, MD, PhD, FAAN Editor-in-Chief, Neurology® Rochester, New York

> Jonathan P. Hosey, MD, FAAN Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Nicholas E. Johnson, MD, FAAN Chair, Advocacy Committee Richmond, Virginia

> Elaine C. Jones, MD, FAAN Beaufort, South Carolina

Shannon M. Kilgore, MD, FAAN *Palo Alto, California*

Brett M. Kissela, MD, MS, FAAN Cincinnati, Ohio

Brad C. Klein, MD, MBA, FAAN

Chair, Medical Economics

and Practice Committee

Willow Grove, Pennsylvania

Thomas R. Vidic, MD, FAAN Elkhart, Indiana

Ex Officio, Non-voting Director Catherine M. Rydell, CAE Chief Executive Officer Minneapolis, Minnesota The Honorable David Perdue United States Senate 455 Russell Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Todd Young United States Senate 185 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Cornyn United States Senate 517 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Richard Durbin United States Senate S-321, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Christopher Coons United States Senate 218 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Patrick Leahy United States Senate 437 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Perdue, Durbin, Young, Coons, Cornyn, and Leahy,

The American Academy of Neurology (AAN) is the world's largest neurology specialty society representing more than 36,000 neurologists and clinical neuroscience professionals. The AAN is dedicated to promoting the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care. We are proud to support the Healthcare Workforce Resilience Act (S. 3599) a bill that would reallocate 15,000 visas for foreign-born physicians and 25,000 visas for foreign-born nurses to practice in the United States.

The current pandemic reveals how vulnerable our health care workforce is to shortages. Now, more than ever, it is critical that we ensure our nation's health care workforce can meet the needs of the American people. The Healthcare Workforce Resilience Act would provide much-needed stability to foreign-born physicians already practicing in the United States who are stymied by the green card backlog due to per country caps. According to one AAN member from India who has worked in an underserved area of Tennessee, based on "current wait times, it may take several decades for me to get a green card. Due to my visa status, me and my family face significant uncertainties regarding wok and life in America."

These qualified health professionals, including neurologists, will help fill shortages as our nation's health systems continue their "all hands-on deck" response to COVID-19. In addition, these highly trained medical professionals will provide lifesaving care in many of our nation's underserved communities.

The AAN thanks you for your leadership on this important issue and we look forward to working with you to advance the Healthcare Workforce Resilience Act. If you have any questions, please contact Derek Brandt, Director, Congressional Affairs at dbrandt@aan.com or Michael Lisowski, Congressional Affairs Manager, at mlisowski@aan.com.

Sincerely,

James C. Stevens, MD, FAAN

James C. Stevens MD.

President, American Academy of Neurology