

201 Chicago Avenue Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415

> Tel: (612) 928-6100 Fax: (612) 454-2744

> > AAN.com

President

Ralph L. Sacco, MD, MS, FAHA, FAAN Miami, Florida

President Elect

James C. Stevens, MD, FAAN Fort Wayne, Indiana

Vice President

Ann H. Tilton, MD, FAAN New Orleans, Louisiana

Secretary

Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN
San Antonio, Texas

Treasurer

Janis Miyasaki, MD, MEd, FRCPC, FAAN Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Immediate Past President

Terrence L. Cascino, MD, FAAN Rochester, Minnesota

Directors

Brenda Banwell, MD, FAAN *Philadelphia, Pennsylvania*

Sarah M. Benish, MD, FAAN

Edina, Minnesota

Charlene E. Gamaldo, MD, FAAN Baltimore, Maryland

James N. Goldenberg, MD, FAAN Lake Worth, FL

Jonathan P. Hosey, MD, FAAN Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Elaine C. Jones, MD, FAAN Bristol, Rhode Island

Brett M. Kissela, MD, MS, FAAN Cincinnati, Ohio

> John C. Morris, MD, FAAN Saint Louis, Missouri

Thomas R. Vidic, MD, FAAN Elkhart, Indiana

Ex Officio Directors

Orly Avitzur, MD, FAAN Chair, Medical Economics and Management Committee Tarrytown, New York

Gregory D. Cascino, MD, FAAN Chair, Member Engagement Committee Rochester, Minnesota

Robert A. Gross, MD, PhD, FAAN *Editor-in-Chief, Neurology® Rochester, New York*

Nicholas E. Johnson, MD Chair, Government Relations Committee Salt Lake City, Utah

Ex Officio, Non-voting Director Catherine M. Rydell, CAE

Catherine M. Rydell, CAE Chief Executive Officer Minneapolis, Minnesota May 14, 2019

The Honorable Amy Klobuchar United States Senate Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jacky Rosen United States Senate Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Susan Collins United States Senate Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Klobuchar, Collins and Rosen,

The American Academy of Neurology (AAN), the world's largest neurology specialty society representing over 36,000 neurologists and clinical neuroscience professionals, is strongly committed to high-quality accessible care for patients with neurologic conditions. We would like to commend you for introducing the *Conrad State 30 and Physician Access Reauthorization Act*.

One in six people live with a brain or nervous system condition, including Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, stroke, epilepsy, traumatic brain injury, ALS, multiple sclerosis, and headache. With an aging population and the burden of neurologic disease continuing to grow the neurology workforce may not be able to meet patient demand.

Originally created in 1994, the Conrad program is an important tool to address critical physician workforce shortages and patient access to care in underserved areas. The current program is designed in a flexible way that allows each state to customize their Conrad 30 allocation to address the unique needs of their state. For example, in Minnesota all specialties are considered for the program, while in Rhode Island eligible practice areas limited, but include a small number of specialties like pediatric neurology. The AAN supports the reauthorization of this program through 2021 and recognizes the need for additional policy to combat the ongoing medical provider workforce challenges across the country.

Thank you for taking a leadership role on this critical issue. Please contact Derek Brandt at *dbrandt@aan.com* if you have questions or request additional information.

Sincerely,

Ralph L. Sacco, MD, MS, FAHA, FAAN President, American Academy of Neurology

KILA -