Headquarters

521 E. 63rd St. Kansas City, Mo. 64110 816-756-3140

Fax: 816-756-3144



Government Affairs Office

1025 Vermont Ave. NW Suite 1100 Washington, D.C. 20005 202-639-0550

Fax: 202-639-0559

May 20, 2019

The Honorable Amy Klobuchar United States Senate 302 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Susan Collins United States Senate 413 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Jacky Rosen United States Senate 144 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Klobuchar, Collins, and Rosen:

The National Rural Health Association (NRHA), a nonprofit organization of 21,000 members that represents the health interests of rural Americans, applauds the bipartisan introduction of the Conrad State 30 & Physician Access Reauthorization Act (S.948). Your bill will make great strides in the recruitment of physicians to rural areas and the delivery of vital health care services in rural America.

As you know, rural America faces significant barriers to access to health care. Rural America faces greater workforce shortages than their urban counterparts, and rural physicians serve populations that are, per capita, older, sicker and poorer than their urban and suburban counterparts. Notably, rural America is home to 20% of all U.S. citizens, yet only 9% of U.S. physicians practice in rural areas.

Your legislation will help hospitals, clinics and group practices overcome some of the barriers to recruiting and retaining physicians, thereby, increase health care access in rural America. This bill will go far in ensuring that rural Americans a sufficient workforce to provide necessary care.

NRHA supports your efforts to help address the workforce shortages in rural America. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to call Mason Zeagler on my government affairs staff at 202-639-0550 or by e-mail at mzeagler@nrharural.org.

We thank you for sponsoring this important legislation. You are truly stalwart champions for rural America.

Sincerely,

Alan Morgan

Chief Executive Officer