

June 19, 2019

The Honorable Brad Schneider 1432 Longworth House Office Building U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Abby Finkenauer 124 Cannon House Office Building U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Don Bacon 1024 Longworth House Office Building U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representatives Schneider, Bacon, and Finkenauer:

On behalf of the 134,600 members of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), I am pleased to express our support for your legislation, the Conrad State 30 & Physician Access Act (H.R. 2895). As the nation's largest primary care organization our members provide care to more than 190 million patients annually. Our members are acutely aware of the current shortage of primary care physicians across the country and the important role physicians utilizing J-1 visa waivers have in reducing health care disparities in rural and underserved communities.

Your legislation would:

- Allow the program to expand beyond 30 slots if certain nationwide thresholds are met:
- Create three new Conrad 30 slots per state to be used by academic medical centers;
- Allow "dual intent" for J-1 visa physicians seeking graduate medical education; and
- Establish new employment protections and a streamlined pathway to a green card for participants.

Conrad 30 has been a highly successful program, enabling underserved communities to recruit both primary care and specialty physicians after they complete their medical residency training. We applaud this bipartisan reauthorization of the program and for the recognition of the important role immigrating physicians play in our nation's health care infrastructure.

We are pleased to support your legislation and look forward to working with you to improve health care for all Americans. If you have any questions regarding this issue, please contact Mark Cribben at 202/655-4911 or MCribben@aafp.org.

Sincerely,

Michael Munger, MD, FAAFP

Michael Mungy MD

AAFP Board Chair

President John Cullen, MD Valdez, AK

Speaker Alan Schwartzstein, MD Russell Kohl, MD Oregon, WI

President-elect Gary LeRoy, MD Dayton, OH

Vice Speaker Stilwell, KS

Board Chair Michael Munger, MD Overland Park, KS

Douglas E. Henley, MD Leawood, KS

Directors Robert Raspa, MD, Orange Park, FL

Leonard Reeves, MD, Rome, GA Ada Stewart, MD, Columbia, SC Executive Vice President Sterling Ransone, MD, Deltaville, VA Windel Stracener, MD, Richmond, IN Erica Swegler MD, Austin, TX

STRONG MEDICINE FOR AMERICA

James Ellzy, MD, Washington, DC Dennis Gingrich, MD, Hershev, PA Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD. Bay Shore, NY LaTasha Seliby Perkins, MD (New Physician Member), Arlington, VA Michelle Byrne, MD (Resident Member), Chicago, IL Chandler Stisher (Student Member), Brownsboro, AL